My Howard Kissel memory


ImageI became extremely interested in musical theater in the early 1990s, when Howard Kissel was the main theater critic for the New York Daily News. I started working at the News in 1993 as a general assignment reporter.

Kissel wrote an article once about the mega musicals that were dominating the Broadway stage at the time: Phantom of the Opera (which, holy Lord, is still running), Les Miserables, Cats and Miss Saigon. I was surprised when Kissel said Phantom was the best of the bunch. I’d seen all four and I disagreed with him. So I sent him a short note, nothing extensive, expressing my surprise that he liked Phantom more than Les Miz, which I felt was the superior work.

I’ll never forget his reply. First, he said, Phantom leaves the audience with a stronger impression that they have been to “the theater.” I have to agree with him there. And then he said this [my quote is based on memory]:

The reason you prefer Les Miz over Phantom is that Les Miz had real characters and a plot. I’ve often said that if you put a gun to the head of the people leaving Phantom and demand that they tell you what they just saw, they couldn’t. Not even to save their lives. 

May people are better suited than I to eulogize Howard Kissel, who passed away Friday at age 69. I just wanted to share one small memory of a man who, on one particular day, brought a lasting smile to one particular fan of musicals. I’m sorry we didn’t talk more, Howard. Rest in peace.

Published by Olmeda

At-large director on the national board of the Society of Professional Journalists. Former president of the National Association of Hispanic Journalists and of UNITY: Journalists of Color. An extreme moderate, not committed to political ideology. Stepfather to two wonderful daughters. Father to two wonderful sons. Husband. Rogue karaoke singer. Humanist

Leave a comment

Yes, I Will Marry You

“No two couples are alike. No two ceremonies should be.” — Rafael Olmeda

Two-Cult Survivor

It's never too late to break free

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.

Domenic Garisto / LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT..if you can't be the poet, be the poem..havau22.com

The Honking Goose

something to honk about

Samuel Job Mashariki Carrasco

Call to me and I will answer you...

Captured by Film

Old cameras and taking pictures on film.

hessianwithteeth

This site is all about ideas

Diary of a Real Estate Junkie

One man's obsession with real estate, land use, design, construction & the results.

William E. Lewis Jr. - Bill Lewis - Vero Beach, Florida

William E. Lewis, Jr. & Associates - (772) 324-6400

GetReligion

An independent voice you can depend on to do what's right for the Society of Professional Journalists

Friendly Atheist

An independent voice you can depend on to do what's right for the Society of Professional Journalists

The Adobo Chronicles

Your best source of up-to-date, unbelievable news.

Godless Mom

An independent voice you can depend on to do what's right for the Society of Professional Journalists

The Buttry Diary

Steve Buttry, Dearly Departed Husband, Father and Grandfather. Former Director of Student Media, LSU's Manship School of Mass Communication