Stepping down


Last week I formally made the difficult decision of stepping down as president of UNITY: Journalists of Color. I did so for the most transparent of personal reasons: to concentrate on my job and my family.

I have been blessed with a good job in a profession that I love. That profession has seen some dramatic changes in the past decade, and I was honored to be a part of the national conversation about the current and future state of journalism since my first election to the board of NAHJ in 2000.

I have also been blessed in my personal life, thoroughly enjoying being a father to my newborn son as well as a husband and stepfather.

I have every confidence the mission and goals of UNITY will continue to be well-served under its new leadership.  Barbara Ciara is a dynamic and inspiring voice for our cause, and with Joanna Hernandez at her side, UNITY is in for a phenomenal time.

===

In the meantime, you can still find me on Facebook, Twitter, and at the Sun Sentinel breaking news page and parenting blog.

One thought on “Stepping down

  1. Pingback: 16 people took a stand « Olmeda

Leave a Reply

